Wildlife Gateway

Tanzania is truly a touristy destination, endowed with vast and beautiful national parks, game reserves, beaches, mountains and diverse cultural ethnic groups. According to Tanzania National parks (TANAPA) approximately one quarter of its surface has been set aside for conservational purposes.

Tanzania’s tourism sector has recently received another boost when the country won three of the seven natural wonders of Africa, which are The Serengeti National Park, the Ngorongoro Conservation Area (NCA) and Mount Kilimanjaro, respectively.

Geographically, tourism sector in Tanzania operates in two major zones (Circuits), The Northern circuit as well as the southern circuit. Kilimanjaro International Airport strategically situates within a close proximity of the Northern circuit which comprise renowned touristy honey pots such as Mount Kilimanjaro, The Serengeti National park as well as the Ngorongoro conservation area which have all been designated as the winners among the seven natural wonders of Africa in 2013.The Airport has both domestic and International flights connecting the region with various parts of the world.


Mount Kilimanjaro is one of the largest stratovolcanoes in the world reaching 19,340 feet (5,895m) into the air. As the tallest mountain in Africa, Mount Kilimanjaro is also the tallest free standing mountain in the world. Kilimanjaro is a composite volcano that includes layers of lava, tephra, and volcanic ash. The volcano is currently inactive with no known history of eruptions.

Mount Kilimanjaro has seven distinctive peaks with Uhuru Peak accounting for the mountains highest elevation at 19,341 feet (5,895 m). A 1.5 mile wide crater is featured as part of the Kibo portion of the mountain.      

The high elevation and proximity to the equator allows visitors to experience a variety of climate types. Kilimanjaro also features a year round snow-topped peak. Although the volcano is isolated, it is part of the line of volcanoes that reach across northern Tanzania.

Quick Facts:

  • The tallest mountain in Africa reaching 19,340 feet (5,895 m)
  • Tallest free standing mountain in the world
  • Seven different peaks with Uhuru Peak being the highest
  • Kibo peak features a 1.5 mile wide crater
  • Greatest view of earth's surface in one view.


The Serengeti National Park is Tanzania’s oldest and the most popular national park. The National park is famed for its migration and the presence of the so called “The Big Five” which is a group of wild mammals includes Lions, Leopard, Elephant Black Rhinoceros and African Buffalo.     

The Serengeti migration is the longest and largest over land migration in the world. The Serengeti plains account for over 18,641 square miles and the migration itself travels 500 miles on the path from Tanzania to the Masai Mara Reserve in Kenya. Approximately 80% of the Seregeti plains are protected by the Tanzanian and Kenyan governments.       

The Serengeti is home to over 70 larger mammals and approximately 500 different types of birds. Probably the most impressive part of the migration is the herds of wildebeests that blanket the plains. The migration will kill off around 250,000 wildebeests each year.


Quick Facts

  • Migration crosses Tanzania and Kenya
  • Spans 18,641.1 square miles (30,000 sq km)
  • Longest and largest over land migration in the world
  • The name Serengeti means "endless plains"

3.    NGORONGORO CRATER             

Ngorongoro Crater is the world's largest unbroken caldera. Often referred to as "Africa's Garden of Eden," the crater is home to over 30,000 animals including elephants, lions, cheetahs, wildebeests, buffaloes, and the rare black rhinos. View Wildlife of Ngorongoro Crater to learn more about the wildlife and View Birds of Ngorongoro Crater to discover some of the many species that are found in the area.           

Ngorongoro Crater was created from a volcano that exploded creating the caldera wilderness haven. The crater is 12 miles (19 km) across and consumes 102 square miles (264 sq km) of wilderness. The rim of the crater rises just over 2,000 feet (610 m) above the caldera floor reaching an elevation of 7,500 feet (2,286 m).



For more information on the three among the seven natural wonders of Africa situating close to Kilimanjaro International airport, Please click here...